The NSW iAwards show innovation is alive and kicking

iawardsThe NSW iAwards were announced last week and go to show that innovation is alive and well in NSW, and in the other Australian States.

Kate Burleigh, Managing Director Intel Australia/NZ and Chair of the iAwards Steering Committee, spoke after the ceremony,

“This year’s entrants blew us away with their innovative ideas and creative thinking, and it is thrilling to see minds like these contributing to New South Wales innovation. As the standard of work and ideas improves year on year, the iAwards continue to showcase the best in the industry. We are excited to see the New South Wales winners compete at the national level in August.”

The list of winners covered six domains and 18 categories:

  • Development:
    • Research & Development – Aquaria, CSIRO & Garvan Institute
    • New Product – PayDirect, MYOB
    • Start-up – Maestrano, Maestrano
  • Industry:
    • Industrial & Resources – AutoBagDrop, ICM Airport Technics
    • Financial – Payreq, Payreq Ptd Ltd
    • Applications, Tools & Platforms – Maestrano, Maestrano
  • Service:
    • Consumer – Cricket Australia Live Streaming, Accenture Australia Pty Ltd & Cricket Australia
    • Education – IntoScience – Virtual school excursions, CSIRO & 3P Learning
    • Government – National Map, National ICT Australia, Department of Communications & Geoscience Australia
    • Health – Population Health Intervention Management System, Ajilon Australia Pty Ltd & NSW Health
  • Society:
    • Regional, Inclusions & Community – COVIU, Digital Service Delivery Platform, Coviu Pty Limited & National ICT Australia
    • Sustainability – BuildingIQ, BuildingIQ
  • Under-25s – Hills Young Innovator of the Year:
    • Cloud – When That, Callum Predavec
    • Mobile – SMS Secure, Andrew Suber
    • Data – Foodbank Local, Brad Lorge
  • Students:
    • Secondary – Bin I.T!, Declan Predavec – Mosman High School, Nikita Pussell – North Sydney Girls High School, & Nicholas Palmer – Sydney Boys High School
    • Undergraduate Tertiary – VibroMat, Daniel Parker, NICTA
    • Postgraduate Tertiary – Yalut: Privacy – Aware Mobile Social Networking System, NICTA & University of New South Wales

The range of winners from established organisations to start-ups, from 12-year-olds to government departments, really helps demonstrate how much is going on in ICT at the moment.

The iAwards honours both companies at the cutting edge of technology innovation as well as leading professionals across the ICT industry. Most importantly, the iAwards recognises the achievements of home-grown Australian innovators. Award winners from around the country will go on to compete for recognition at a national level in Melbourne in August.

For more on the awards see their website.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.