iAwards recognise the best in ICT

iawardsThe best of the best in Australian ICT innovation were recognised recently at the 2014 National iAwards.

The ABC’s James O’Loghlin presented the awards across a range of categories, including Start-up, CIO of the Year, ICT Woman of the Year and New Product.
Russell Yardley, Chairman of the iAwards Steering Committee, commented on the evening: “The iAwards demonstrate the importance of innovation to Australia by bringing together and recognising the best young innovators and companies making a difference. By identifying outstanding achievers in innovation, we are providing exemplars to the rest of industry around what they should aspire to.”

Numerous speakers, including David Bartlett, former Premier of Tasmania, Leni Mayo, founding investor of 99designs and iAwards ICT Woman of the Year 2013, Yvette Adams, explored the importance of ICT and stressed the importance of innovation across all sectors of the Australian economy – including infrastructure, health, government services and mining.

This year saw the introduction of the Hills Young Innovator of the Year award – a new program directed at recognising Australians under the age of 25. The 15 finalists pitched their ideas to a panel of judges, ICT professionals and leading technology companies at a ‘Pitch Fest’ as part of the iAwards MasterClass session on Friday. Elliot Smith, an electrical engineering graduate from the University of Queensland, was awarded the Hills Young Innovator of the Year iAward for Pepster – a breathing device and smartphone and tablet apps to monitor respiratory physiotherapy in patients suffering breathing and lung conditions – and will receive $15,000 to bring the app and device to market.

For the full list of winners and for more information about the iAwards take a look at the official website.

One thought on “iAwards recognise the best in ICT

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.