BHP Science & Engineering Awards finalists announced

The twenty-six finalist in Australia’s most prestigious school science and engineering awards have just been announced.

Drawn from all around Australia the 26 will come together in Melbourne over the next five days to refine their pitches and present their projects to be in the running for thousands of dollars in prize money and a chance to represent Australia at the in the USA in May.

Projects cover a wide range in the two broad sweeps of engineering and scientific investigation, including:

There really is some amazing stuff going on here and all 26 students are deserving of everyone’s support. Each finalist has an introductory video explaining their project and as bit about themselves. The winners will be announced on 5 February at a ceremony in Melbourne.

The BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Awards are a partnership between the BHP Foundation, CSIRO, the Australian Science Teachers Association, and each state and territory Science Teachers Association.

Since 1981, the Awards have been recognising student excellence. Six of the finalists will have the opportunity to go to Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) in the US where over 1800 high school students from 75 countries, regions and territories are given the opportunity to showcase their independent research.

The full list of finalists is:

  • Oliver Balfour, Alfred Deakin High School, ACT
  • Gabby Jarvis, Daramalan College, ACT
  • Jessica Bridgart, Daramalan College, ACT
  • Joseph Wright, Daramalan College, ACT
  • Lucy Lake, Barker College, NSW
  • James Casey-Brown, Barker College, NSW
  • Anne Zimmerman, Home school Elsmore, NSW
  • Tiarra Meier, Home school Elsmore, NSW
  • Shirley Wang, Meriden School, NSW
  • Callum Predavec, Mosman High School, NSW
  • Kelvin Du, Newington College, NSW
  • Ethan Yin, Northholm Grammar School, NSW
  • Jianwen (Jennivine) Chen, PLC Sydney, NSW
  • Josafina Paddison, Queenwood School for Girls, NSW
  • Olga Medvedieva, Queenwood School for Girls, NSW
  • Angelina Arora, Sydney Girls High School, NSW
  • Macinley Butson, The Illawarra Grammar School, NSW
  • Josiah Cheng, Queensland Academy for Science Mathematics and Technology, QLD
  • Maria Saito, Queensland Academy of Health Sciences, QLD
  • Julia Bejleri, Queensland Academy of Health Sciences, QLD
  • Hannah Lee, Queensland Academy of Health Sciences, QLD
  • Emma Spurr, Kingston High School, TAS
  • Isaac Brain, Rosny College, TAS
  • Mitchell Torok, Rosny College, TAS
  • Lucy Eade, St Mary’s College, TAS
  • Uriah Daisybell, Christian Aboriginal Parent Directed School, WA

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.